Did we make the right choice on Sutton?

DILLIGAFF

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Hard to tell but if go to the Panthers web site and look at his stats, when he got a chance he performed well.www.panthers.com/team/roster/Tyrell-Sutton/

THE PANTHERS UNEARTHED A GEM from the rabble of players released at September's roster deadline when they claimed Tyrell Sutton off waivers from the Green Bay Packers.

A tailback by trade, the Northwestern product's value proved to be his versatility, as he worked on special teams, returned kickoffs, pitched in as a relief runner when Williams was injured and, for one memorable afternoon inside the Louisiana Superdome, started at fullback when Brad Hoover and Tony Fiammetta were injured and inactive.

"We all laughed about it initially. How's the smallest guy in the room going to play fullback?" the 5-foot-8, 213-pounder said. "As the week went on, we took it a lot more seriously."

Serious enough that Sutton carried the football on the first snap of his first regular season game, in one moment crossing off most of the "firsts" of his career - start, snap, game and carry (for nine yards), not to mention being at a new position.

"It wasn't so much being out of position. The only thing that was out of position was the title," Sutton said a few days after the starting assignment. "Playing fullback is basically the same as playing running back. The only difference is that you're blocking all the time."

I thought Wynn would have had a better year than he did, yet I was upset when they cut Sutton in favor of the 3 full backs. I thought at the time he was worth a roster spot and would make a good change of pace running back giving Grant a breather.

I think Sutton has good field of vision which works well with our zone blocking scheme. The biggest knock on Sutton was his blocking, or was more of a question mark due to his size. He was able to play full back as a rookie.