The Spectre of 2017 FA's

4zone

Cheesehead
Reaction score
I don't want to pull conversations away from 2016/17 but it's obvious our FA's in 2017 are having an effect on the Pack's actions even now. With a little down the road peaking, I'd like some thoughts on how folks weave the two into one quilt. This year's draft, FA and next year's in-house FA targets.

I look at the big 4 FA's for next year. Lacy, Bahk, Lang and Sitton. We can't look at this year without accounting for them in the equation. So lets through out a few numbers first off (I'm not an expert at cap numbers by any stretch of the imagination)

2016/17 Average Salary Numbers
Lacy - $848K
Bahk - $653K
Lang - 5.2M
Sitton - 6.75M

Bahk - 24 (prime)
Lang - 28 (last contract)
Sitton - 29 (last contract)

Estimated Cap Increase
With this year's cap at 155.17 mil and the estimate that the cap seems to increase at about a 7% clip per year. I expect an increase of about 11M.

I understand the cap hits this year for each is probably different from their average salary numbers but these numbers will suffice to get this rolling. Feel free to add 2o16/17 actual cap hits to the discussion.

Lacy and Bahk contracts will definitely make huge leaps next year. I don't think Lang and Sitton will however due to their ages. They may increase but not at the same scale as the other two.

I think it's easy to project Bahk in the 8M+ range being a LT. He will definitely be offered at least 8M somewhere. Lacy will depend heavily on this coming year's performance. If he makes the leap we all want, he could go somewhere from 5-8M per. These increases alone could eat up the entire cap increase for next year.

With this in mind, I think it's clear this team is in for some real core player changes in 2017 and with that in mind, how does that effect our approach to FA this year, and our upcoming draft? Light it up folks.

OP
OP
4zone

4zone

Cheesehead
Reaction score