Salary cap set at $143.28 million

• Thread starter Deleted member 6794
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 6794

Ian Rapoport reporting this according to team sources. This means the Packers will have roughly $33.4 million in cap space available.

Ace

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Ian Rapoport reporting this according to team sources. This means the Packers will have roughly $33.4 million in cap space available.

Plenty to sign who we need to sign as well as be small players in free agency if need be, much like last year.

Pokerbrat2000

Opinions are like A-holes, we all have one.
Reaction score
I am no expert on Cap, but why do bonuses get deferred over the life of a contract, do they have to be? Couldn't a team like the Packers, who have plenty of cap space this year figure out a way to pay more on contracts this year, so they have more to spend against the cap in following years? Just curious, I would think a team that had the money, would structure their contracts to basically hit the cap each year and not leave any unspent. Doing this by front loading contracts (either bonuses and/or salaries) of players like Rodgers and Matthews (players they intend on keeping in GB for the life of their contracts). I am guessing they can't carry unused cap space forward from year to year.

TJV

Lifelong Packers Fanatic
Reaction score
I am no expert on Cap, but why do bonuses get deferred over the life of a contract, do they have to be? Couldn't a team like the Packers, who have plenty of cap space this year figure out a way to pay more on contracts this year, so they have more to spend against the cap in following years?