1. Welcome to Green Bay Packers NFL Football Forum & Community!
    Packer Forum is one of the largest online communities for the Green Bay Packers.

    You are currently viewing our community forums as a guest user.

    Sign Up or

    Having an account grants you additional privileges, such as creating and participating in discussions. Furthermore, we hide most of the ads once you register as a member!
  2. Big Announcement Coming for 2015 Football Season!!

    Be on the look out for a big Packer Forum announcement when the schedule is released. Full details coming soon...

Even M. Lynch knows the truth

Discussion in 'Packer Fan Forum' started by Alex, Sep 25, 2012.

  1. Iron Lion

    Iron Lion Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Ratings:
    +5
    So what you guys are saying is:

    1. There was initial control by Jennings, which should trump the "fact" that there was simultaneous possession at some point.

    2. This should have been reviewable since it was in the endzone, and the replacement official totally blew the replay call.

    What I'm saying is:

    1. Once the process of the catch was completed, there was simultaneous possession. The ball was not caught only by Jennings; it was caught by both, and awarded to the offensive player.

    2. The quote about it "not being simultaneous catch if one player first has control" is something I have to look into because as I've said, I'm skeptical that it applies to the case where the feet are not down in bounds. I think it's talking about a situation where having control automatically constitutes a catch due to the other conditions being satisfied. I think the quote is taken out of context in the book. If it's not, then the rules are not clear on this issue and should be revisited.
     
  2. SpartaChris

    SpartaChris Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,042
    Ratings:
    +965
    No, there was never once simultaneous possession. Catching the guy who caught the ball is not "Simultaneous possession." PFT had a solid write up explaining that particular rule, and the FACT of the matter is Golden Taint never once had "Simultaneous possession" of the ball. Even the eye test tells you Jennings clearly had the ball caught and possessed in his chest first, well before Taint ever once slipped a hand on the ball. Pretty simple, really.

    http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2012/09/26/nfls-rulebook-casebook-confirms-call-was-incorrect/

     
  3. jaybadger82

    jaybadger82 Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    808
    Ratings:
    +384
    Well, here's the current NFL rulebook. See Rule 8, section 1, article 3, item 5: Simultaneous Catch.

    Jennings established control of the football before Tate. Any subsequent control obtained by Tate becomes meaningless under the rule. Jennings feet have nothing to do with the analysis except in determining whether the pass was incomplete or intercepted.

    If you think another portion of the rulebook should be applied then please identify it or STFU.

    The overwhelming popular consensus on the error of that call indicates the stupidity of your post.
     
  4. Iron Lion

    Iron Lion Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Ratings:
    +5
    Lol, Taint now. OK. Come on guys you have had some major BS calls go your way in the past to majorly swing games, try to have a little class in the face of controversy going the other way. Need I remind you of the Samkon Gado "incomplete pass" or whatever the hell that was? Need I remind you of the muffed punt return last year that was ruled a catch? Need I remind you of the Titus Young TD that was ruled incomplete? And the list goes on.

    Jaylover, I have identified it. Go back and read or STFU.
     
  5. 13 Times Champs

    13 Times Champs Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,924
    Ratings:
    +1,379
    [​IMG]
     
    • Funny Funny x 1

Share This Page