Wynn disputes IR move

Heatherthepackgirl

Cheesehead
Reaction score
He wants second opinion on injury
By TOM SILVERSTEIN
[email protected]
Posted: Nov. 8, 2007

Green Bay - Rookie running back DeShawn Wynn said he thinks the nerve injury in his neck and shoulder isn't serious enough for the Green Bay Packers to have put him on injured reserve, but there's not much he can do about it.

Wynn said he disagreed with the doctor's assessment that it would take him until late in the season to recover from the injury, and felt like he could play even as early as this weekend or the next. Wynn plans to get a second opinion on the injury, which the club must pay for under the collective bargaining agreement.

"I didn't feel like it (was season-ending), but I'm no doctor," Wynn said Thursday. "We have such a good year going and when you start it you want to be a part of it until the end. But you have to take it like it is."

Wynn was injured on his only carry of the game against the Denver Broncos on Oct. 29 and did not return. His backup, Ryan Grant, took over and gained 104 yards in 22 carries, prompting coach Mike McCarthy to declare him the starter immediately after the game.

Given Wynn had gone through a series of conditions that kept him off the field, including illness, cramps, thigh and hand injuries, it's logical to think the Packers decided to shut him down and let him work on strengthening his body for next season. Wynn has been attending meetings regularly and is being encouraged to hit the weights as soon as he's healthy.

Asked if he thought the Packers sidelined him because of his many ailments, Wynn said, "You play with injuries, a lot of people in here play with injuries. I don't know."

As a result of landing on injured reserve, Wynn must take a reduced salary for the final nine weeks of the season.