1. Welcome to Green Bay Packers NFL Football Forum & Community!

    Packer Forum is one of the largest online communities for the Green Bay Packers. You are currently viewing our community forums as a guest user.

    Sign Up or

    Having an account grants you additional privileges, such as creating and participating in discussions. Furthermore, we hide most of the ads once you register as a member!
    Dismiss Notice

Lee's safety

Discussion in 'Packer Fan Forum' started by AmishMafia, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. AmishMafia

    AmishMafia Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,975
    Ratings:
    +2,226
    I was sick and missed the game for the first time on Sunday. Excuse me if I have missed this and the point has already been made. But I have not read this take on the safety. I just watched the game on nfl rewind and when Lee reaches across the endzone and grabs the ball, he takes a knee. T he official behind him and at least one other, immediately blow their whistles. This should ends the play and he would no longer try. Had they not blown their whistles, the lions would have closed on him quickly, maybe he would have figured it out. Not sure what should have happened, not a do-over, but I'm not sure the refs blew that one and should have given him a touchback.
     
  2. okcpackerfan

    okcpackerfan Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    732
    Ratings:
    +186
    they blew the whistle because it was a safety
     
  3. AmishMafia

    AmishMafia Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,975
    Ratings:
    +2,226
    they blew the whistle when there wasn't a lion within 10 yards of Lee. They were also waving their arms to also indicate the play was over.
     
  4. Mr. StyleZ

    Mr. StyleZ Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,760
    Ratings:
    +376
    He took a knee which means he gave himself up, thus ending the play. Can't take a knee then get up and run..

    Maybe I'm not sure what you're asking?
     
  5. AmishMafia

    AmishMafia Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,975
    Ratings:
    +2,226
    Good point. But I have seen players take a knee, hear no whistle, then realize the play is live and still run.
     
  6. bozz_2006

    bozz_2006 Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    4,576
    Ratings:
    +652
    They took a knee on a kick-off return? Or are you talking about when, say, a QB throws it, and WR has to go down to a knee to catch it, then takes off? Those two are very different. When you take a knee on a kickoff, it's giving yourself up. That's what Lee did. Play over. Two points, Lions.
     
  7. Helmets

    Helmets Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    615
    Ratings:
    +222
    I disagree. I have seen where a kick returner - on a kickoff, takes a knee, then realizes that he is out of the endzone, or took possession of the ball outside of the endzone, and then takes off. I agree with Ezra Yoder the Amish fella...the ref in the endzone behind Lee blew the whistle and waved his arms, as he thought it should have been a touchback. It was not until the refs huddled and another ref with a sideline view indicated that the ball was outside of the endzone. Bad call and a quick whistle. Like Amish, I don't know what they could have done. Only two choices - touchback or safety.
     
  8. greenandgold

    greenandgold I'm Dirty Hairy Callahan

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,776
    Ratings:
    +473
    It doesn't matter any way. It was a dumb play on his part. And not the only mishandled ball he had that day, if I remember right.
     
  9. The Real Pack Attack

    The Real Pack Attack Cheesehead

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Ratings:
    +31
    Yes you are correct. He mishandled the first 2 kick-offs of the game. The safety was the second kick-off. Slocum did the right thing for once and removed him from return duty after the safety. Only for some inexplicable reason Slocum put him back in the game for the last kick-off of the game. Luckily for the Pack Jason Hanson kicked it out ot the end-zone!
     
  10. TJV

    TJV Lifelong Packers Fanatic

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    5,389
    Ratings:
    +4,176
    When a player has possession of the KO with his knee down in the EZ, the whistle should blow the play dead. The reason for the conference was to clarify whether or not Lee brought the ball back into the EZ or not. Helmets, in the examples of what you have seen you don't include a returner taking a knee in the EZ. Lee's knee was down in the EZ, then he reached across the goal line and brought the ball back into the EZ while his knee was still down. It's the equivalent of a player receiving the KO at the two yard line and in an attempt to evade tacklers, goes into the EZ and gets tackled (or foolishly takes a knee).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Bensalama21

    Bensalama21 Ben

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575
    Ratings:
    +609
    The rule is though that if a player takes a knee in any play, the play is automatically dead.
     
  12. PFanCan

    PFanCan That's MISTER Cheesehead, to you.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,880
    Ratings:
    +1,232
    Sounds reasonable. However... as Lee's knee was already down when he reached forward to grab the ball on the 6 inch line (and pull it back into the EZ), why not give the Packers the ball on the 6 inch line? As the play ends the moment he takes possession of the ball, would it not be marked at the position of the ball rather than his knee?

    ((BTW, I agree, without really knowing the rule book details, that it was a safety. Just playing devil's advocate here.))
     
  13. Bensalama21

    Bensalama21 Ben

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575
    Ratings:
    +609
    True. I think that he was in a knee position when he grabbed the ball, but they still called it a live ball, and he did it a second time and that is when they called it dead.
     

Share This Page