Free Agency... Thinking Outside the Box

The_Virus

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Ok, so lets take a break from some of the big names out there (ie Steven jackson. What about someone like Dan Conner as a depth signing? Cliff Avril perhaps?

H

HardRightEdge

Ok, so lets take a break from some of the big names out there (ie Steven jackson. What about someone like Dan Conner as a depth signing? Cliff Avril perhaps?

Cliff Avril is a pretty big name. Not sure what we'd do with a 4-3 DE, though, and a pretty expensive one at that. He did play LB in his first year in college, and he had 4.5 speed coming out, but I don't think you try to convert a proven 4-3 end in the prime of his career to an OLB. And if we did, what the heck are we supposed to do with Perry?

I must confess, I have no knowledge of Dan Connor.

HyponGrey

Caseus Locutus Est
Reaction score
Wouldn't mind a small deal with Shaun Phillips as a depth/rotational player. Still would like Alan Branch. Shonn Greene could be a nice complement to Harris. Brandon Myers might come cheap. Not sure if Kelvin Hayden could FS...

burt packerack

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Wouldn't mind a small deal with Shaun Phillips as a depth/rotational player. Still would like Alan Branch. Shonn Greene could be a nice complement to Harris. Brandon Myers might come cheap. Not sure if Kelvin Hayden could FS...

I was going to say the same thing about Shonn Greene. He has shown some effectiveness in the past and I believe he'll play harder if he's in an organization that isn't a complete joke. We would be able to get him a lot cheaper than Steven Jackson. Plus he's pretty young. I'm ALL for this pick up, if it ever happened. If we were to make ANY moves this free agency I would be the most excited about this.

texaspackerbacker

Cheesehead
Reaction score
I think I'm more comfortable in the box. I particularly don't like Shonn Greene, and I doubt he'd be much cheaper than Jackson.

burt packerack

Cheesehead
Reaction score