1. Welcome to Green Bay Packers NFL Football Forum & Community!
    Packer Forum is one of the largest online communities for the Green Bay Packers.

    You are currently viewing our community forums as a guest user.

    Sign Up or

    Having an account grants you additional privileges, such as creating and participating in discussions. Furthermore, we hide most of the ads once you register as a member!
  2. Announcement is LIVE: Read the Forum Post

Announcement Original Chat Room is BACK

Discussion in 'Packer Forum Announcements' started by robdog, Sep 16, 2013.

  1. robdog

    robdog Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,358
    Ratings:
    +308
    The original chat room is back. Here is the URL:
    http://www.packerforum.com/AddonChat/Embed

    You will need to have JAVA installed on your machine to participate. But, this chat room will prevent crashes during game day. (since it is run on a 3rd party server)
     
  2. Poppa San

    Poppa San SB I trophy First of four Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,445
    Ratings:
    +1,041
    Bummer, my FFox in Debian don't seem to like the Java plugin. Got a week to work on it.
     
  3. longtimefan

    longtimefan Super Moderator Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,743
    Ratings:
    +2,983
    Get this

    You do not have sufficient privileges to enter Packer Lobby
     
  4. Poppa San

    Poppa San SB I trophy First of four Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,445
    Ratings:
    +1,041
    Tried with chrome and got a blank box. Tried to open a window and got this:
    Java Plug-in 1.6.0_26
    Using JRE version 1.6.0_26-b03 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
    User home directory = /home/family
    ----------------------------------------------------
    c: clear console window
    f: finalize objects on finalization queue
    g: garbage collect
    h: display this help message
    l: dump classloader list
    m: print memory usage
    o: trigger logging
    q: hide console
    r: reload policy configuration
    s: dump system and deployment properties
    t: dump thread list
    v: dump thread stack
    x: clear classloader cache
    0-5: set trace level to <n>
    ----------------------------------------------------


    exception: JNLP file error: addonchat-signed-en.jnlp. Please make sure the file exists and check if "codebase" and "href" in the JNLP file are correct..
    java.io.FileNotFoundException: JNLP file error: addonchat-signed-en.jnlp. Please make sure the file exists and check if "codebase" and "href" in the JNLP file are correct.
    at sun.plugin2.applet.JNLP2Manager.loadJarFiles(JNLP2Manager.java:441)
    at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager$AppletExecutionRunnable.run(Plugin2Manager.java:1496)
    at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:662)
    Exception: java.io.FileNotFoundException: JNLP file error: addonchat-signed-en.jnlp. Please make sure the file exists and check if "codebase" and "href" in the JNLP file are correct.



    Does it make sense to anyone else?
     
  5. longtimefan

    longtimefan Super Moderator Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,743
    Ratings:
    +2,983
  6. robdog

    robdog Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,358
    Ratings:
    +308
    Weird. I will check out the permission issues and post back to this thread.
     
  7. I_am_smoked_cheddar

    I_am_smoked_cheddar Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Way too complex to appeal to any but the sophisticated geek. I will have no interest downloading more sticky programing into my pc. Just put the chat/ shout out back where it was and fix your end of the pipe. Open more sunday chat rooms !
     
  8. Poppa San

    Poppa San SB I trophy First of four Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,445
    Ratings:
    +1,041
    This is why I appealed to the resident geek. I know my way around PC's but software usually stumps me especially when a plug'n'play add-on like Java fails. Maybe my O/S is getting dated.
     
  9. robdog

    robdog Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,358
    Ratings:
    +308
    LOL, your computer should already have JAVA installed on it. It is not rocket science to install/update a plug-in. But yes, it could be more difficult for some...
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  10. 12theTruth

    12theTruth Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I have JAVA on my PC but the chat room doesn't work for me after several attempts.
     
  11. Dan115

    Dan115 Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Ratings:
    +486
    Same here went out about 20 minutes ago.
     
  12. buggybill2003

    buggybill2003 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3,788
    Ratings:
    +2,165
    D`UH is that all thats wrong ??? Gonna get really technical here Pop, okay ??





























    Turn it off, and then turn it back on again......simple :D
     
  13. 12theTruth

    12theTruth Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    It shows only one person in the chat room at 12:12. Something must not be working!!
     
  14. NorthWestCheeseHead

    NorthWestCheeseHead Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,117
    Ratings:
    +375
    only 2 people in there including myself just now. Would much prefer the shoutbox being live.
     
  15. 16ga

    16ga Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'm also getting the "You do not have sufficient privileges to enter Packer Lobby" when i try to go in.
     
  16. Razoul

    Razoul Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Ratings:
    +0
    Getting an "invalid user name or password" even though I'm logged into the site with the same credentials.
     
  17. longtimefan

    longtimefan Super Moderator Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,743
    Ratings:
    +2,983
    Rob is going to work on it later
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. Poppa San

    Poppa San SB I trophy First of four Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,445
    Ratings:
    +1,041
    It helps the people figuring out what don't work if they know exactly what the fault message is along with as much supporting data as possible.

    I know you were just spoofin.
     
  19. buggybill2003

    buggybill2003 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3,788
    Ratings:
    +2,165
    apologies ;)
     
  20. Dan115

    Dan115 Cheesehead

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Ratings:
    +486
    Still does NOT work.
     
  21. 12theTruth

    12theTruth Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hasn't worked for me. Windows blocks in from running. Wants to install an active x control on my PC by the name of 404.html which Windows doesn't recognize and therefore it doesn't load.

    Judging by at many times only 3 or 4 people in the chat room I am thinking others were having troubles as well.

    I have Windows 7 and IE 9. Two of the more common OS's and browswer's today.
     
  22. longtimefan

    longtimefan Super Moderator Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,743
    Ratings:
    +2,983
    Rob is aware
     
  23. IluvGB

    IluvGB I <3 Packers!!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,351
    Ratings:
    +845
    Poor Rob!!! Behind his keyboard tap tap tapping away trying to keep us all hap hap happy!!:x3:
     

Share This Page