Shields and Concussion Protocol

Ogsponge

Cheesehead
Reaction score
So Shields is out again this weekend so this will be what, 4 weeks now? Now I am not a doctor nor do I play one on TV, but how is this possible?

Mondio

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Depending on where he is it could be his symptoms never stopped, they might be coming back with some light biking, or maybe he's running and waking up with headaches. Without specifics all we can tell is he isn't able to physically exert himself without symptoms returning.

PackerDNA

Cheesehead
Reaction score
They're still learning about concussions. It seems some are different then others, and different people are effected differently. One thing I learned is that you're more vulnerable with each one. Chris Prongersuffered a concussion 4 1/2 years ago. It didn't even seem like a hard hit, yet he never played again, and to this day suffers from blurred vision, headaches and memory loss.
We can only hope for the best.
Depending on where he is it could be his symptoms never stopped, they might be coming back with some light biking, or maybe he's running and waking up with headaches. Without specifics all we can tell is he isn't able to physically exert himself without symptoms returning.

OP
OP
Ogsponge

Ogsponge

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Luke Kuechly missed 3 1/2 games

I was talking about it because I find it concerning for his health, just seems like a really long time to be dealing with the concussion symptoms. I more concerned for his actual health than whether he is able to play or not.

The other things it makes me think of is wondering how many times I had a concussion when playing football in high school. The amount of time my bell was rung on a collision and continued playing is at the rate of at least 2-5 a game.

Last edited:

TJV

Lifelong Packers Fanatic
Reaction score