Why Don't we have hot Cheerleaders!?

armand34

Cheesehead
Reaction score
I'm a NJ resident, so I see the JETS "flight crew" all the time...Is it possible for us to be a sexier organization bringing the cheerleaders back?!?! I think that would be great!

longtimefan

Staff member
Reaction score
Packers.com » History » Fast Facts » Packers Cheerleaders

You must be logged in to see this image or video!
Packers Cheerleaders

The Green Bay Packers once had official cheerleaders, but after the 1988 season the decision was made not to reinstate them. While some Packers fans supported the official cheerleaders, many were opposed or indifferent, at best.

Helping the Packers make the decision to discontinue the program was a television news poll in which fans were generally split over whether they wanted the program to continue.

Then the Packers' executive vice president of administration, Bob Harlan was quoted in an official release Feb. 7, 1989, saying: "In general terms, the poll disclosed there were as many fans who expressed opposition to the return of the cheerleaders as there were those in favor of restoring them. On that basis, we felt the appropriate decision at this time would be to continue without them."

At this time, there are no plans to return to official cheerleaders.

For several years, the team has used cheering squads from two local schools, St. Norbert College in De Pere, Wis., and the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay. Compared to other stadiums, though, they are not as much a part of the gameday experience at Lambeau Field.

Last Updated: 08/12/09

PackersRS

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Cheerleaders? We don't need no stinkin' cheerleaders...
There is plenty to cheer about whenever my green & gold is on the field!
Cheerleaders are for franchises that can't rely solely on football to entertain the fans, and for franchises desperate to attract fairweather fans that they put barely naked hot women on the sidelines.

Not our case.