Why a first round RB???

sbp_387

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Do you guys think we really should go for a first round rb, we could fill another need with this pick cuz this years draft has some very good RB in the second round. We rune a zone blocking scheme and so we dont need a first round back, I dont think lynch is a special RB. he is good but not that special, he also has some off the field issues and back problems and things.

Zombieslayer

Cheesehead
Reaction score
sbp_387 said:
Do you guys think we really should go for a first round rb, we could fill another need with this pick cuz this years draft has some very good RB in the second round. We rune a zone blocking scheme and so we dont need a first round back, I dont think lynch is a special RB. he is good but not that special, he also has some off the field issues and back problems and things.

Good question. I was a few weeks ago pro-Lynch in the 1st, but now I'm changing on that. Like you said, we run a ZBS. If utilized right, Morency/Herron will be fine and our more pressing needs are drafting a TE, a Safety, a KR/PR in one of the later rounds, and depth (CB, OT, RB, etc).

CaliforniaCheez

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Samkon Gado did well as a street free agent.
RB is one of the easiest positions in the NFL for rookies to learn.
The O-line opening the holes is much more important.

There will be someone "good enough" that the Packers can select in the 3rd to 5th round.

Anyone remember a Packer 6th round pick Don Woods getting over a 1000 yards as a rookie?

Greg C.

Cheesehead
Reaction score
It's an interesting question. You make a good point, but this year it seems that Lynch is the player who stands out as having the biggest impact for the Packers at #16, unless he's taken earlier or another player drops much farther than expected.