Clay Gone ? Per Fake Twitter acct

PackerDNA

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Wow, just saw a report from Ian Rappaport that Clay Matthews has been released.

OP
OP
P

PackerDNA

Cheesehead
Reaction score
After a few more clicks, ended up at his twitter site. Report dated the 1st; odd. Also not seeing anywhere else yet.

OP
OP
P

PackerDNA

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Then there you go. Not that I'm an expert on such things, but I couldn't tell fake from real.

azrsx05

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Fake or not. I think it's coming. I doubt he takes a pay cut. He will probably go to the Patriots and he will miraculously look great again.

Pokerbrat2000

Opinions are like A-holes, we all have one.
Reaction score
Cutting Clay has been talked about for awhile now and it never really made sense due to the Dead Cap hit. This would be the first year that it actually may make sense and could happen. Matthews is due $11,368,750 with zero dead cap hit if they cut him.

Clay, if you are listening, some of us want you back in Green Bay, but make your money in advertising and take a pay cut to play for your actual value. :)

GleefulGary

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Hey guys! I know our pass rush isn't very good, but let's cut one of our best guys. Great idea!

Pokerbrat2000

Reaction score
Hey guys! I know our pass rush isn't very good, but let's cut one of our best guys. Great idea!

Which along with his previous years dead cap hit, was why it made no sense to cut him, until maybe now. But you are right, there isn't anyone waiting in the wings to take over his position and do it better. So if he won't renegotiate and the Packers want to cut him, they better go FA shopping with the money and find a guy who can get the job done for that same money or less.

H

HardRightEdge