Tell us about your first nfl game

ivo610

Cheesehead
Reaction score
I think mine was at camp Randall actually. I barely remember anything other than it being a novelty to most in Madison.

El Guapo

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Mine was a pre-season game at County Stadium. As a young kid, I remembered thinking that "they looked much bigger on TV." It was still fun though. I don't think that I made it to Lambeau until after I graduated from college

H

HardRightEdge

It must have been around 1968-69. The old Pitt Stadium, preseason, Colts vs. Steelers, half the seats empty.

Unitas, past his prime, shredded the doormat Steelers...something like 41-7. In those days, starters actually played most of the game. The Steelers were a team that stunk consistently from their formation all the way to Chuck Noll, except for a couple years after they acquired Bobby Layne from Detroit...one of the worst franchises in the history of professional sports up until Noll. The town went nuts when they started winning, and gave the people something to cheer for as the steel mills started into decline.

In our time in Milwaukee, which was exactly the Lombardi years, the ticket situation was not much different than today. It was an expensive day out, but we had television and Ray Scott!

EDIT: Here's a lesson to you young guys on how long term memory can play tricks.

http://www.pro-football-reference.com/boxscores/196809290pit.htm

I correctly noted the year, place, teams and, remarkably, the score. But Unitas didn't even play. I probably recall the anticipation of seeing Unitas while forgetting the disappointment of his not playing. It was Earl Morrall, and the shredding came primarily from three pick-6's.

Could this mean Favre did not throw all those interceptions I seem to recall? :confused:

I

I asked LT to delete my acct