"Scat"tenheimer

calicheesehead

Cheesehead
Reaction score
Marty was here...our Pass D was weak. He left....the Pass D improved...he's back...Pass D down again. This are should have been improved due to the FA's and gained experience of some rookies and 1st year players. I gupled when I originally saw the MM hire of MS. Now I can buy into the incohesiveness and early miscommunications of the DB group...but they should be improving.
So when I see a quote from him saying, ("When it was down to the important part of the football game, the guys responded and did a hell of a job," secondary coach Kurt Schottenheimer said.) I have to question when is the football game not important. We have given up 24 big plays, of which, 20 have been by pass. All balmed on miscommunications and not knowing the guys around you intentions.
I may be bashing a bit, but what does this guy do? I'm no expert by any means in the ways of the Secondary coach, but I am puzzled as why this talent level of DB's aren't improving and playing at least average in the league.

warhawk

Cheesehead
Reaction score
I must say I am not a big fan of MS but I will also say that the DB's and LB's are making significant errors on big plays in which they have been prepared for in practice but have not performed in the games.

Many big plays allowed are obvious screw ups by the backs. Other big plays result from missed assignments not so easily detected.

Carroll biting on a fake as the deep back with another player in front of the receiver in perfect position is just a bone head move. Just as frustrating is watching Manuel freeze back there 10 yards too deep on a blitz call when he should be much further up on the line to defend the toss to the back (allowing an easy TD on Sunday).